Award nominations are accepted on an ongoing basis, but must be received by September 30th to be considered for induction in the following year.

Eligibility for nomination and selection may include any one or more of the following criteria:

  • Excellence in his/her chosen field
  • Outstanding service to his/her community (local, regional or national level)
  • Contributions to humanity (local, regional or national level)

Up to five nominees will be recognized each year.  Commemorative plaques will be presented to each honoree and displayed at East Aurora High School.  Inductees are invited to be guests of honor at a special assembly to speak to high school students. 

The selection committee and nomination process are managed by the East Aurora Educational Foundation. Nominations will remain in consideration for two years. Candidates will be notified in the fall that they will be receiving the award at the induction ceremony and assembly to be held the following spring.  

Nomination Guidelines

  • Anyone may submit a nomination.
  • Nominees must have graduated from East Aurora High School at least ten years prior to their nomination.
  • Nominations may be submitted for posthumous awards.
  • Nominee cannot be anyone currently seeking election to a political office.
  • Nominations must be submitted on the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame Nomination Form and may include additional supporting information and materials.  Additional materials will not be returned.


Seated from left to right are Gary D. Schutrum ’78, longtime director and Chief Executive Officer of the Boys & Girls Club of East Aurora, and Susan McClaren, Foundation Board President.  Standing from left to right are Nancy Logan Montone ’81, community volunteer and Director of Advancement at Explore & More Children’s Museum in East Aurora, East Aurora Superintendent Brian Russ, John Crawford Cline ’63, an attorney in West Virginia who has represented miners with federal black lung claims, and James Norton, who accepted the award for his father, James F. Norton, MD ’36, a General Practice Physician in East Aurora for over 40 years.

     The East Aurora Educational Foundation has partnered with the East Aurora Union Free School District to establish the East Aurora High School Distinquished Alumni Hall of Fame.

     The 2017 inaugural class of inductees (pictured on the right) was honored on April 21st at an event at the Roycroft Inn.  At the ceremony, guests viewed a video produced by members of the East Aurora High School Film Academy highlighting the background of each inductee.  The inductees shared memories of their time at East Aurora High School, and offered advice to today’s students. The video will be shared with this year's high school students. 

     After the ceremony, the inductees returned to East Aurora High School and served as guest speakers in classes that related to their backgrounds and areas of expertise.

Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame

Distinguished Alumni

Hall of Fame Nominations